Research Staff Working Group

Research Staff Working Group (RSWG)

The RSWG's task is to address issues for research staff across the University. It is working on a number of fronts to ensure that the University provides the best possible working environment for its research staff. It reports to the University’s Personnel Committee, and is chaired by the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Personnel and Equality).

Its priorities for 2013-4 are

  • Management and leadership for researchers
  • Personal development review for research staff

For more information on how these priority areas are being addressed, keep up to date by subscribing to the mailing list for research staff or follow the Research Staff at Oxford Twitter account. To get in touch with the Oxford Research Staff Society, please visit their website or email the Committee.  

If you have any views that you would like to feed in to the group's discussions, please pass them on to the Secretary to the RSWG.

Current membership is as follows: 

Dr Stephen Goss (Chair)

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Personnel and Equality)

Professor Ros Ballaster

Chair, University Skills Group

Dr Claire Conway

Careers Service

Ms Kathryn Dally

Assistant Registrar (Research Integrity), Research Services

Mr Julian Duxfield

Director of Human Resources

Dr Nandini Gooptu

Department of International Development

Professor Sunetra Gupta

Professor of Theoretical Epidemiology

Dr Laura Hodsdon

Researcher Development Adviser, Oxford Learning Institute

Ms Vanessa Howe

Head of Recruitment and Employee Development, Personnel Services

Dr Cheryl Hunter

Oxford Research Staff Society

Ms Catherine McKiernan

Humanities Division Administrative Officer, Planning and resource

Ms Sharon Neal

Head of Professional Development, Oxford Learning Institute

Dr Garrick Taylor

Biochemistry (UCU representative)

Professor Ian Walmsley

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Xin Lu

Nuffield Department of Medicine

Ms Kate Butler